Home Places Back to top

Microblog

Back to home.

This microblog uses handwritten posts on index cards, saved in Markdown format, post-processed in Obsidian or Notepad++ (most of the time). I use the Google app on my phone for OCR, which often capitalises the odd letter, sorry about that!

cost of living

Have to both work as parents to support our family now. It's a load of crap 💰💰.

Juggling kids and work is emotionally exhausting. I really feel for single parents now.

2024-06-24

yuck

Standing guard over an open manhole, disgusting smell 🤢. I've got the unenviable job of keeping an eye on drainage clearing and survey in a food factory. Not sure why I am here tbh! Worried I'll be put off the food type...

2024-06-19

belonging at work

Excellent podcast from the Happiness Lab, on happiness at work. A key point for me is a sense of belonging, of investing in relationships ❤. I've been travelling to another office this week 🚆 because I've been a bit isolated. It's been a brilliant experience to reconnect.

2024-06-14

sleep

There are a lot of things to do and think about in recovery (a la 12-step...). However, I feel like a lot of stuff I/we deal with in life boils down to how much sleep we are getting 💤. And good sleep routines.

I once heard:

think of going to bed as the start of the next day...like an investment.

Last night not getting much (kids, neighbours 🙄) is a tough reminder.

2024-06-09

concrete pour

Concrete has been poured for our new home extension today 👷‍♂️. I'm actually stressing out about it as pipes are leaking and it's raining off and on 😟. I need to let it go.

2024-06-04

disconnection

Sitting outside, really enjoying The sunshine ☀️ and the space the kids have in a big park. But I still feel a bit of a loss without my phone with me 📱.

Probably a good thing I don't have it!

2024-05-31

weekly journal

I've set up my weekly journal. I do love using my Stalogy A5 notebook 📕 and fountain pens. The weekly postit is from Muji. I heard recently that just recording Something helps memory 'cluster' around dates, and keeps us able to recall it 🧠.

pic

2024-05-27

can-hit-game

Was remembering a game I used to play with friends as a teen.

  1. Place an empty drinks can on a Stick
  2. and take turns hitting it with a bat 🏏, watching it fly across the grass.
  3. Repeat until the can splits in two.

Lots of good times.

2024-05-22

open for posting

I've now moved everything over to this site from my short-lived Wordpress blog. Nothing wrong with that site, but I am sure this will be much more fun!

2024-05-18

obsidian journey

So… that was a crazy couple of weeks. I jumped off the deep end with Settings, themes, plugins, CSS snippets, front matter, data-view queries…

And now I’m pulling back. The tool is using me now, not the other way around. I’ve Stripped quite a few things back, hoping this means a week of being balanced in life again 😬.

First published 2024-04-29

beauty

How do I experience beauty? How can I put myself in the path of oncoming beauty?

I discussed these recently with Some friends. Some thoughts:

(PS for some reason Google’s OCR thinks my ‘s’ are capitalised. Sorry about that!)

First published 2024-04-24

work fears

I’ve been procrastinating a lot at work. When I stop and think about it, I wonder if it has a fear-origin 😕

I am fearful of The challenges I will face if I move into a new project.

First published 2024-04-17

obsidian

Just discovered Obsidian...

Wow! Can’t believe I missed this one till now. I’m already migrating everything over. Markdown love ❤️!

First published 2024-04-13

ideas

card one

These are some things I would like to try. In no particular order!

card two

First published 2024-04-09

terrible triangle

I landed in a really tough project at work this week.

I am determined to avoid the terrible triangle. I’ve been caught there too many times 😭. This is doing all three:

First published 2024-04-04

easter

Such fun seeing the kids hunt for Easter eggs 🥚. Makes me kinda wish I had an old camcorder like my dad did when I was little. Now it’s just short clips on the phone.

First published 2024-03-30

to blog or not to blog

I’ve really enjoyed my experience here, though a lot of it was behind the scenes. I am tempted to leave it now, as I have have a strong pull to treat this as a self promotional thing rather than selfless expression. BUT, I am willing to give it a bit longer. We’ll see 🧐

First published 2024-03-29

distraction with markdown

Totally distracted trying to figure out how to get Corporate brand-compliant Word docs, but starting with Markdown. Sigh. Not working 🤦‍♂️ (no 🎲 installing plugins or software. with our IT).

First published 2024-02-23

first

I love analog✒! A thought Struck me: could I create a microblog using index cards and a pen ? The answer is yes💡! I am using the Google app OCR function to paste this here. Future Posts on :

First published 2024-02-22

Back to top

i